The Ultra Vivid Lament by Manic Street Preachers

Published October 3, 2021

The Ultra Vivid Lament by Manic Street Preachers

Album info

  • Title The Ultra Vivid Lament
  • Artist Manic Street Preachers
  • Year 2021
  • Genre Alternative


  1. Still Snowing in Sapporo
  2. Orwellian
  3. The Secret He Had Missed (feat. Julia Cumming)
  4. Quest for Ancient Colour
  5. Don’t Let the Night Divide Us
  6. Diapause
  7. Complicated Illusions
  8. Into the Waves of Love
  9. Blank Diary Entry (feat. Mark Lanegan)
  10. Happy Bored Alone
  11. Afterending


Wahey, this is such a good album. Great tunes and good lyrics as always - a bit more serious in tone than the previous album, and dipping into weightier subjects, but still with the engaging and powerful feeling that draws you in right from the start. I don’t think it’s quite as good as the previous album, which is a proper classic and favourite, but it’s certainly a highlight of what has been a pretty poor year so far.

Rating: 5 / 5

← Previous Unknown Pleasures by Joy Division
Next → CooleyHighHarmony by Boyz II Men