Rattle and Hum by U2

Published October 5, 2019

Rattle and Hum by U2

Album info

  • Title Rattle and Hum
  • Artist U2
  • Year 1988
  • Genre Rock


  1. Helter Skelter (Live)
  2. Van Diemen’s Land (Live)
  3. Desire
  4. Hawkmoon 269
  5. All Along the Watchtower (Live)
  6. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For (Live)
  7. Freedom for My People (Excerpt)
  8. Silver and Gold (Live)
  9. Pride (In the Name of Love) (Live)
  10. Angel of Harlem
  11. Love Rescue Me
  12. When Love Comes to Town
  13. Heartland
  14. God, Pt. II
  15. The Star Spangled Banner (Live Woodstock Festival Excerpt)
  16. Bullet the Blue Sky (Live)
  17. All I Want Is You


Before listening to this one, there was a little debate over whether it counted in the album game. I have weird rules that bend and mutate over time, but the fact that this album contains a significant amount of previous songs was an issue. They’re live, so that’s different, and in the end I allowed it because this is clearly an album that they have worked and crafted as a piece of art.

I know that people, and by people I mean avid U2 fans, don’t really like this one. But I quite enjoyed it. It’s a bit of a hodgepodge of stuff, like a scrapbook, and I liked it. Guests popping in and out, live songs from previous events, and then a couple of new ones as well.

Plus, All I Want Is You has been one of my favourite U2 songs for a long, long time.

Rating: 3 / 5

← Previous Hey, I'm Just Like You by Tegan and Sara
Next → Sunshine Kitty by Tove Lo