Velvet Mood by Billie Holiday

Published October 3, 2020

Velvet Mood by Billie Holiday

Album info

  • Title Velvet Mood
  • Artist Billie Holiday
  • Year 1956
  • Genre Jazz


  1. Prelude To A Kiss
  2. When Your Lover Has Gone
  3. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone
  4. Nice Work If You Can Get It
  5. I’ve Got a Right to Sing the Blues
  6. What’s New
  7. I Hadn’t Anyone Till You
  8. Everything I Have Is Yours


I knew going into this that I’m not really a fan of jazz, but having watched Forever Young which features the wonderful Billie Holiday singing The Very Thought Of You, I thought it was worth a shot. The album was pretty much as I expected - Billie’s absolutely exquisite vocals layered over jazz music. And as anticipated, I didn’t enjoy the jazz but you can’t argue with Billie’s voice.

It was great when she was singing, but when she’d pause to let the trumpets go off and do their jazzy thing, I was less keen. And whilst I totally respect the skill and ability that goes into making jazz music, the fact that I don’t really enjoy it means that when they jazz up songs I know (Nice Work If You Can Get It), it doesn’t sit well. So totally love and adore Billie and her voice, but confirmed in the knowledge that jazz is not for me.

Rating: 2 / 5

← Previous THE SPEED OF NOW Part 1 by Keith Urban
Next → 2020 by Bon Jovi