Spice World by Spice Girls

Published June 30, 2019

Spice World by Spice Girls

Album info

  • Title Spice World
  • Artist Spice Girls
  • Year 1997
  • Genre Pop


  1. Spice Up Your Life
  2. Stop
  3. Too Much
  4. Saturday Night Divas
  5. Never Give Up On the Good Times
  6. Move Over
  7. Do It
  8. Denying
  9. Viva Forever
  10. The Lady Is a Vamp


Having seen the girls do the bizzo at Wembley, it was only natural to listen to their second album. I’ve already logged the first, and that one is a classic in my book. This second one I don’t think lives quite up to the standard of the first but somehow it’s also not really trying to.

I feel like this album has a couple of really, epic stand-out songs. When Viva Forever started, I felt a proper gut punch of emotion because it’s just that good. But then it’s also peppered with songs that sort of feel like filler. Never Give Up on the Good Times isn’t great and I honestly don’t remember how Denying went.

But it’s still a strong album and the good more than makes up for the less good. Girl Power!

Rating: 3 / 5

← Previous Western Stars by Bruce Springsteen
Next → Stranger Songs by Ingrid Michaelson