Mama Said by Lenny Kravitz

Published November 21, 2020

Mama Said by Lenny Kravitz

Album info

  • Title Mama Said
  • Artist Lenny Kravitz
  • Year 1991
  • Genre Rock


  1. Fields of Joy
  2. Always On the Run
  3. Stand By My Woman
  4. It Ain’t Over ‘Til It’s Over
  5. More Than Anything in This World
  6. What Goes Around Comes Around
  7. The Difference Is Why
  8. Stop Draggin’ Around
  9. Flowers for Zoë
  10. Fields of Joy (Reprise)
  11. All I Ever Wanted
  12. When the Morning Turns to Night
  13. What the … Are We Saying?
  14. Butterfly


I knew a couple of these songs before listening to the album but I think my Lenny Kravitz knowledge was pretty poor. I quite enjoyed it as a collection of songs but I do think it was lacking some cohesion - the styles and genres seemed to jump around quite a lot and you were never quite sure what was coming next.

Lenny does have an incredible talent though for making timeless songs - I can’t believe It Ain’t Over Til It’s Over isn’t from decades before, and it just doesn’t age.

Rating: 2 / 5

← Previous Young Dumb Thrills by McFly
Next → DISCO by Kylie Minogue