Upstairs at Eric's by Yazoo

Published February 27, 2021

Upstairs at Eric's by Yazoo

Album info

  • Title Upstairs at Eric's
  • Artist Yazoo
  • Year 1982
  • Genre Pop


  1. Don’t Go
  2. Too Pieces
  3. Bad Connection
  4. I Before E Except After C
  5. Midnight
  6. In My Room
  7. Only You
  8. Goodbye ’70s
  9. Tuesday
  10. Winter Kills
  11. Bring Your Love Down


I thought I’d like this far more than I did. Vince Clarke is a musical idol to me and I love the vocals of Alison Moyet, so together they must make magic, right? And it’s fair to say that Only You is up there with one of my favourite songs of all time. Unfortunately, the rest of it wasn’t quite so good.

The better songs were nicely eighties and had those elements of Vince Clarke songs that I love. But there was also some experimental stuff on there I was less keen on. Track 4 is just layered voices saying weird things - I can see why that was left off the original European release!

Rating: 3 / 5

← Previous SOUTHSIDE by Sam Hunt
Next → The Otherside by Cam