The Monkees by The Monkees

Published June 11, 2023

The Monkees by The Monkees

Album info

  • Title The Monkees
  • Artist The Monkees
  • Year 1966
  • Genre Pop


  1. (Theme From) The Monkees
  2. Saturday’s Child
  3. I Wanna Be Free
  4. Tomorrow’s Gonna Be Another Day
  5. Papa Gene’s Blues
  6. Take a Giant Step
  7. Last Train to Clarksville
  8. This Just Doesn’t Seem to Be My Day
  9. Let’s Dance On
  10. I’ll be True to You
  11. Sweet Young Thing
  12. Gonna Buy Me a Dog


There are only two good things about this album - one is that general sixties vibe, I do love that sound. The other is that it was a lot of fun researching the background to this: the TV show, the controversy of the band not playing their own instruments, them trying to wrestle back control and then not doing very well after that. This album though? Not good, even the singing is lacking and that’s the one thing they’re trusted to do!

Rating: 2 / 5

← Previous Council Skies by Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds
Next → The Show by Niall Horan