The Age of Consent by Bronski Beat

Published November 9, 2019

The Age of Consent by Bronski Beat

Album info

  • Title The Age of Consent
  • Artist Bronski Beat
  • Year 1984
  • Genre Pop


  1. Why?
  2. It Ain’t Necessarily So
  3. Screaming
  4. No More War
  5. Love and Money
  6. Smalltown Boy
  7. Heatwave
  8. Junk
  9. Need-a-Man Blues
  10. I Feel Love/Johnny Remember Me


I surprised myself with this one, I thought I was going to love it and when it first kicked in I was enjoying but gradually as the album wore on, I just started to really dislike it.

The music is inventive, and I like some of the elements to it - the tap dancing on Heatwave is fun. But there is far too much saxophone and oof, why so much falsetto? I know that’s his thing but it’s all the way through and it hurts my head. Smalltown Boy is a classic but I could take or leave the rest of it.

Rating: 2 / 5

← Previous GREY Area by Little Simz
Next → Sunsets & Full Moons by The Script