Reverie by Ben Platt

Published October 24, 2021

Reverie by Ben Platt

Album info

  • Title Reverie
  • Artist Ben Platt
  • Year 2021
  • Genre Pop


  1. king of the world, pt. 1
  2. childhood bedroom
  3. happy to be sad
  4. I wanna love you but I don’t
  5. leave my mind
  6. dance with you
  7. king of the world, pt. 2
  8. carefully
  9. chasing you
  10. come back
  11. dark times
  12. imagine
  13. king of the world, pt. 3


It took me a while to get my head around what this album was - it’s kind of eighties in the feel of the disco beats, but not full on synth eighties, more of a stripped back sound. And at some point a random saxophone pops up. The songs are good, meaningful and Ben has a great voice, but I’m not sure this will be particularly memorable for me going forward. The three Titanic songs were a bit odd too, but then I did quite like the way they helped know where you are in the album - beginning, middle, and end.

Rating: 3 / 5

← Previous Knee Deep in the Hoopla by Starship
Next → Funky Divas by En Vogue