On How Life Is by Macy Gray

Published October 10, 2020

On How Life Is by Macy Gray

Album info

  • Title On How Life Is
  • Artist Macy Gray
  • Year 1999
  • Genre Pop


  1. Why Didn’t You Call Me
  2. Do Something
  3. Caligula
  4. I Try
  5. Sex-o-matic Venus Freak
  6. I Can’t Wait to Meetchu
  7. Still
  8. I’ve Committed Murder
  9. A Moment to Myself
  10. The Letter


Love this album. I actually knew a lot more of it than I’d expected (went into it thinking I Try would be the only piece I recognised) and I really loved the whole thing. It felt like what I wanted the Billie Holiday album to be - an incredible and unique voice but, thankfully, overlaid not over jazz but general pop tunes.

It’s quirky, track five for example, and the one about being a murderer and not even sorry about it. But Macy has so much personality coming through those vocals that she totally gets away with it. Whilst this album was more familiar to me than I’d thought, I didn’t realise how many followed it, and I can’t wait to listen to the next one!

Rating: 5 / 5

← Previous 2020 by Bon Jovi
Next → 10 Songs by Travis