New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) by Simple Minds

Published January 16, 2021

New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) by Simple Minds

Album info

  • Title New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
  • Artist Simple Minds
  • Year 1982
  • Genre Pop


  1. Someone Somewhere (In Summertime)
  2. Colours Fly and Catherine Wheel
  3. Promised You a Miracle
  4. Big Sleep
  5. Somebody Up There Likes You
  6. New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
  7. Glittering Prize
  8. Hunter and the Hunted
  9. King Is White and in the Crowd


This album popped up because on Huey Lewis’ radio show, he claimed that Simple Minds were a one-hit wonder. Mr C found this quite offensive and then we realised I hadn’t done any of their albums! So, here we go!

Woohoo, the 80s! It’s very firmly 80s in a good way, all the synths and sounds that make that decade what it is. I really enjoyed the album and actively want to listen to more from their back catalogue. Definitely not one-hit wonders!

Rating: 3 / 5

← Previous Songs for the Drunk and Broken Hearted by Passenger
Next → McCartney III by Paul McCartney