Martika by Martika

Published December 12, 2021

Martika by Martika

Album info

  • Title Martika
  • Artist Martika
  • Year 1989
  • Genre Pop


  1. If You’re Tarzan, I’m Jane
  2. Cross My Heart
  3. More Than You Know
  4. Toy Soldiers
  5. You Got Me Into This
  6. I Feel the Earth Move
  7. Water
  8. It’s Not What You’re Doing
  9. See If I Care
  10. Alibis


I know Martika for two reasons - Toy Soldiers, obviously, and then being discussed in the first episode of Peter Kay’s Car Share. This album is very much of its time - strongly 80s pop with a couple of covers in there. In fact, it might almost be missing the peak of the 80s, given that it was released in 88/89. Toy Soldiers stands out as a great track, it also doesn’t quite fit with the rest of the album, where it has such a deep meaning and resonance to it. But overall, a good fun album.

Rating: 3 / 5

← Previous Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night by Bleachers
Next → KEYS by Alicia Keys