Clouds by Joni Mitchell

Published August 22, 2021

Clouds by Joni Mitchell

Album info

  • Title Clouds
  • Artist Joni Mitchell
  • Year 1969
  • Genre Rock


  1. Tin Angel
  2. Chelsea Morning
  3. I Don’t Know Where I Stand
  4. That Song About the Midway
  5. Roses Blue
  6. The Gallery
  7. I Think I Understand
  8. Songs to Aging Children Come
  9. The Fiddle and the Drum
  10. Both Sides Now


I listened to this primarily because it was the key song in CODA, but of course I’m also aware of Joni Mitchell and Both Sides Now in particular for the heartbreaking Emma Thompson in Love Actually. So it’s pretty wedged into my brain culturally. I was expecting the rest of the album to be similar, wistful, in all honesty a bit depressing. There certainly was a lot of that on there, but also more upbeat numbers too - Chelsea Morning was a nice early surprise. Where I had maybe been a bit nervous of dipping a toe in the Joni Mitchell waters, now I’m curious to hear more.

Rating: 4 / 5

← Previous Pressure Machine by The Killers
Next → Solar Power by Lorde