Actually by Pet Shop Boys

Published March 13, 2017

Actually by Pet Shop Boys

Album info

  • Title Actually
  • Artist Pet Shop Boys
  • Year 1987
  • Genre Pop


Side one

  1. One More Chance
  2. What Have I Done to Deserve This (with Dusty Springfield)
  3. Shopping
  4. Rent
  5. Hit Music

Side two

  1. It Couldn’t Happen Here
  2. It’s a Sin
  3. I Want to Wake up
  4. Heart
  5. King’s Cross


I wasn’t sure I’d like this album, Pet Shop Boys are great but a whole album could have been too much. Thankfully, there’s a mix of songs: slow and fast, meaningful and just fun, catchy and forgettable. It’s not one of my favourites but certainly a listenable 50 minutes of music.

Revisited - July 2023

I’m not sure what I was thinking with the review above. Pet Shop Boys have admittedly been hit and miss with me, but this is an album that has Heart, What Have I Done to Deserve This? and IT’S A SIN on it. What else can I ask for from an album, for goodness’ sake?

Rating: 5 / 5

← Previous The Breaker by Little Big Town
Next → So Good by Zara Larsson